0121 634 8060 7am-10pm, 7 days a week Free Insured Next Day Delivery

Gold Sovereigns - Melbourne

As a major part of the British Empire, and a global source of gold to this day, the Royal Mint produced coins at three sites in Australia, including Melbourne on the south-east coast of the country. Production took place between 1872 and 1931, with coins struck in Melbourne bearing the letter 'M' to indicate their origin.

Gold Sovereign coins made in Melbourne and Sydney before 1887 bore local designs on the reverse of the coin, but those after that date reverted to the Royal Mint's standard of St George and the Dragon.

Building a coin collection? Take a peek at our range of Collectable Coins or our modern-day Gold Sovereigns.

View Gold Sovereigns minted in Sydney | View Gold Sovereigns minted in Perth

Sort by:

Melbourne was the second location in Australia that the Royal Mint permitted the development of a franchise refinery, with the specific aim of utilising the country's recent gold discovery to cut down on shipping costs for sending gold back and forth across the world before even entering circulation.

For more information about Sovereign Mint Marks, click here.