0121 634 8060 7am-10pm, 7 days a week Free Insured Next Day Delivery


Throughout the history of Gold Sovereign coin production there have been many locations that the Royal Mint used. Modern production takes place at their plant in Llantrisant, South Wales, but before that they used locations all over the world including Australia and India.

Whether you're interested in Collectable Coins or just Gold Sovereigns, BullionByPost has a great range of coins in stock and available with free, insured delivery. You can also read up on Sovereign coin designs.

For any help ordering or product information please call our support team on 0121 634 8060 or email us at support@bullionbypost.co.uk and we'll get back to you as soon as possible.

Sort by:

1824 Gold Sovereign

Awaiting Stock

1863 Gold Sovereign

Awaiting Stock

1851 Gold Sovereign

Awaiting Stock

The Royal Mint primarily minted their Sovereign coins in London, with additional production taking place in Australia - Sydney, Melbourne and Perth - due to the discovery of gold in the country. This meant the Mint could save shipping costs by mining and refining the coins in the same locations.

A few years later the Royal Canadian Mint was opened in Ottawa, Canada, and after that came mints in both Bombay, India, and in Pretoria, South Africa. Whilst Indian production only lasted for one year (until 2013 when commemorative editions were made), the Canadian and South African mints would produce for many years before becoming their own nation's minting centres.

For more information about the different Royal Mint locations and the Gold Sovereigns produced by them, why not visit our Sovereign Mint Mark infopage. Here you can read all about the different sites and see detailed images of how the Sovereign coins were marked to identify which mint produced them.